“At the heart of a democracy is its educational system, and in the heart of America is The National Teachers Hall of Fame.” -President Bill Clinton, 1993

Located in Emporia, Kansas, the National Teacher Hall of Fame was founded in 1989. Its mission? To recognize and honor exceptional career teachers, encourage excellence in teaching, and preserve the rich heritage of the teaching profession in the United States. In its humble way, the Hall of Fame is about the things teachers do every single day that shape our minds from preschool all the way to higher education.

If the famous John Dewey quote is true, and “education is life itself,” then how do we appreciate the people who make up our education system? That’s what the Hall of Fame aims to do.  Every year, the Hall announces 5 New Inductees. Members of the California Casualty team were honored to be a part of ceremonies recognizing these teachers on April 9th. They will be inducted on June 14th. A big congratulations to the 2013 Inductees!

The 2013 New Inductees to the National Teachers Hall of Fame:

Deborah Cornelison 9th grade Physical Science, Byng Junior High, Ada Oklahoma

Rebecca Gault 6th grade Language Arts, Bel Air Middle School, Bel Air, Maryland

Darryl Johnson 10-12th grade English/ Language Arts, Smithville High School, Smithville, Missouri

Martha McLeod 5th grade Science Lab instructor/ Subject area coordinator, Fulton 4-5 Learning Center, Rockport, Texas

Beth Vernon 8th grade Earth and Space Science, Brittany Hill Middle School, Blue Springs, Missouri

Learn more about the Hall of Fame by clicking here.

California Casualty is a proud Gold Level Sponsor of the National Teachers Hall of Fame.

California Casualty

Pin It on Pinterest